martes, 19 de mayo de 2015

Nuevas adquisiciones en inglés

Parece que voy mejorando algo con el inglés y me estoy convenciendo que puedo leer en inglés y pues allá que he ido. Visité una de las tantas tiendas que hay por Londres de la caridad en las que puedes encontrar muchísimos libros de segunda mano pero que la mayoría están en muy perfecto estado y además ser libros que han sido publicados hace muy poco. Si además le añadimos que el precio de los libros es de 1 libra pues ya la cosa todavía mejora. Así pues, se me fue un poco de las manos y me fui a casa con 4 libros. Aquí os los dejo.


1. Falling 

A brilliant debut psychological thriller by a former police psychologist. Perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson. A plane falls out of the sky. A woman is murdered. Four people all have something to hide. Jim is a retired police officer, and worried father. His beloved daughter has disappeared and he knows something is wrong. Tom has woken up to discover that his wife was on the plane and must break the news to their only son. Cecilia had packed up and left her family. Now she has survived a tragedy, and sees no way out. Freya is struggling to cope with the loss of her father. But as she delves into his past, she may not like what she finds. ‘Before the plane crash, after the plane crash, such a short amount of time for the world to turn on its head… ‘

2, And the Mountains Echoed


So, then. You want a story and I will tell you one...
Afghanistan, 1952. Abdullah and his sister Pari live with their father and stepmother in the small village of Shadbagh. Their father, Saboor, is constantly in search of work and they struggle together through poverty and brutal winters. To Abdullah, Pari - as beautiful and sweet-natured as the fairy for which she was named - is everything. More like a parent than a brother, Abdullah will do anything for her, even trading his only pair of shoes for a feather for her treasured collection. Each night they sleep together in their cot, their heads touching, their limbs tangled. One day the siblings journey across the desert to Kabul with their father. Pari and Abdullah have no sense of the fate that awaits them there, for the event which unfolds will tear their lives apart; sometimes a finger must be cut to save the hand. Crossing generations and continents, moving from Kabul, to Paris, to San Francisco, to the Greek island of Tinos, with profound wisdom, depth, insight and compassion, Khaled Hosseini writes about the bonds that define us and shape our lives, the ways in which we help our loved ones in need, how the choices we make resonate through history and how we are often surprised by the people closest to us.

3. Before I Go to Sleep

Memories define us.
So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love - all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story.

4. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

On the eve of her ninth birthday, Rose Edelstein bites into her mother's homemade lemon-chocolate cake and discovers she has a magical gift: she can taste her mother's emotions in the slice. All at once her cheerful, can-do mother tastes of despair and desperation. Suddenly, and for the rest of her life, food becomes perilous. Anything can be revealed at any meal. Rose's gift forces her to confront the truth behind her family's emotions - her mother's sadness, her father's detachment and her brother's clash with the world. But as Rose grows up, she learns that there are some secrets even her taste buds cannot discern. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake is about the pain of loving those whom you know too much about, and the secrets that exist within every family. At once profound, funny, wise and sad, this is a novel to savour.


Y si me parecían ya pocos, las oportunidades para adquirir libros en inglés a un precio muy bajo, no pueden parar de suceder. El fin de semana pasado se celebró una feria en el pueblo donde estoy viviendo en la que había un puesto donde se vendían libros por 0'20 libras. Sí, ni más ni menos que 0'20 libras. Me armé de valor y allá que me fui a casa con 5 libros más. 


1. Those in Peril

Hazel Bannock is the owner of the Bannock Oil Corp, one of the major global oil producers. While cruising in the Indian Ocean, her yacht is hijacked by Somalian pirates and her nineteen year old daughter Cayla kidnapped. Major Hector Cross is an ex-SAS operative and the man behind Cross Bow Security, the company contracted to Bannock Oil to provide all their security. His loyalty to the Bannock family goes beyond the call of duty. The pirates demand a crippling ransom for Cayla’s release, and complicated political and diplomatic sensitivities render the major powers incapable of intervening. With growing evidence of the horrific torture to which Cayla is being subjected, Hazel calls on Hector to help her rescue her daughter. Between them, Hazel and Hector are determined to take the law into their own hands.

2. The Fear

HE DOESN'T KNOW IT BUT DOGNUT IS ABOUT TO SET OFF A CHAIN OF EVENTS THAT WILL AFFECT EVERY KID IN THE CITY. The sickness struck everyone over the age of fourteen.
Mothers and fathers, older brothers, sisters and best friends. No one escaped its touch. And now children across London are being hunted by ferocious grown-ups . . . they're hungry. They're bloodthirsty. And they aren't giving up. DogNut and the rest of his crew want to find their lost friends, and set off on a deadly mission from the Tower of London to Buckingham Palace and beyond, as the sickos lie in wait. But who are their friends and who is the enemy in this changed world?

3. Peter Pan in Scarlet

Neverland is calling again... 
Something is wrong in Neverland. Dreams are leaking out-strangely real dreams, of pirates and mermaids, of war paint and crocodiles. For Wendy and the Lost Boys it is a clear signal-Peter Pan needs their help, and so it is time to do the unthinkable and fly to Neverland again. 
But back in Neverland, everything has changed-and the dangers they find there are far beyond their dreams... Specially commissioned by Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children as the winner of their competition to write the official sequel to J.M. Barrie's Peter Pan, Peter Pan in Scarlet is a thrilling adventure that you will never forget. Proceeds from every copy sold will go to benefit Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children. This new version brings the adventure to new life with full colour illustrations throughout by David Wyatt, and a new version of the text by Geraldine McCaughrean, to make the story accessible to younger readers. A beautiful book to share and to treasure.

4. Things We Never Say

Abbey Andersen's life in San Francisco is in serious danger of hitting a rut. She's pretty sure it doesn't get worse than being dumped by post-it note, and her current job is hardly the best outlet for her creative talents. Meanwhile in Ireland Fred Fitzpatrick is finding it impossible to keep his grown-up children and their families on side, and they're a demanding lot at the best of times. But when Fred asks solicitor Ryan Gilligan to contact Abbey about a long-buried family secret, things start to change dramatically. And not everyone affected is happy about it...

5. The Sea Sisters 

Two sisters, one life-changing journey… There are some currents in the relationship between sisters that run so dark and so deep, it’s better for the people swimming on the surface never to know what’s beneath... Katie’s carefully structured world is shattered by the news that her headstrong younger sister, Mia, has been found dead in Bali – and the police claim it was suicide. With only the entries of Mia’s travel journal as her guide, Katie retraces the last few months of her sister’s life, and – page by page, country by country – begins to uncover the mystery surrounding her death. What she discovers changes everything. But will her search for the truth push their sisterly bond – and Katie – to breaking point? The Sea Sisters is a compelling story of the enduring connection between sisters.


Os cuento que ya me estoy acabando Before I Go to Sleep y me está encantando tanto la experiencia de leer en inglés como la historia en sí. Y vosotros, ¿os atrevéis con el inglés? ¿qué os parecen mis adquisiciones? 

10 comentarios:

  1. Things we never say tiene muy buena pinta :DDDD

    ResponderEliminar
  2. Disfruta mucho de tus lecturas ^_^

    ¡Besos!

    ResponderEliminar
  3. Me anoto "The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake". Me parece muy apetecible.
    Y sí, comprar libros a estos precios es una delicia en sí mismo. Me encantan los charity shops, jaja.
    saludos

    ResponderEliminar
  4. hola! pues sólo conozco el de peter pan y me gustó bastante!
    espero que los disfrutes!

    un beso!

    ResponderEliminar
  5. niñoooo deja de comprar coñeee jajaajja
    disfrutalos mucho
    ya no queda nada
    besitos

    ResponderEliminar
  6. ¡Hola! muchos de esos libros me han llamado bastante. Disfruta de las lecturas ^^
    Besos.

    ResponderEliminar
  7. Menudo montón!!! claro que puedes leer en inglés,....si puedo yo...jajajaja
    Ya nos irás contando, el de Before I go to sleep ya lo tengo anotadito en amazon, lo único el precio ni comparación con el tuyo y la portada la han cambiado porque debe de haber peli o serie, igual te interesa!
    Un beso!!!

    ResponderEliminar
  8. ¡¡Hola!!
    Me alegro de que leas en inglés. Yo este verano empiezo a ello con un libro al que le tengo muchas ganas (que tengo que pedir aún)
    Me llama de los que tienes, en especial Falling :) Ya contarás tu opinión.
    No conocía tu blog, por aquí me quedo.
    Nos leemos:)

    Un abrazo,
    Raxx

    ResponderEliminar
  9. Hola, geniales tus adquisiciones, disfrutalas!

    ResponderEliminar
  10. ¡Hola! He descubierto tu blog por un comentario que hiciste en el mío. He venido a ver qué tal se estaba por aquí y... me quedo. Tienes un blog estupendo. Me he decidido a hacerte mi primer comentario en esta entrada porque, casualmente, llevo unos días dándole vueltas en la cabeza al tema de leer en inglés. Hace como un año o así que empecé a estudiar este idioma y me gustaría leer algún libro para empezar a soltarme un poquito. El problema es que no sé por dónde empezar pues no me gustaría lanzarme a la lectura de alguno que me resultase muy difícil y agobiarme. Espero alguna recomendación para lectores novatos o "novice readers" ^_^. Besos.

    ResponderEliminar